Living the Change

Synopsis

Sometimes it can feel like the environmental, economic and social issues the world is currently facing are too big, too overwhelming, to be dealt with by individuals. Climate change, resource limits, economic downturn, social disconnection…Surely these issues can only be properly managed by our governments? LIVING THE CHANGE explores solutions to the global crises we face today – solutions any one of us can be part of – through the inspiring stories of people pioneering change in their own lives and in their communities in order to live in a sustainable and regenerative way. Directors Jordan Osmond and Antoinette Wilson have brought together stories from their travels, along with interviews with experts able to explain how we come to be where we are today. From forest gardens to composting toilets, community supported agriculture to timebanking, LIVING THE CHANGE offers ways we can rethink our approach to how we live.

Awards : Cinematography Award & Social Impact Award - A Show for Change 2018

Director's statement

Each and every one of us has the power to create change. LIVING THE CHANGE sets out to inspire us to do just that. There are so many exciting and important ideas and initiatives out there, so much hope and inspiration. We want to generate discussion as widely and deeply as possible about how each of us views the future and our part in it.

Why we selected this film

A journey through the sublime landscapes of New Zealand in a film which overflows with energy to – finally? – give us the will to act and take part in this wonderful movement which aims to get the system to evolve. Through the initiatives of the protagonists, we realise that we can take part in changing the sad reality of a dying planet into something positive and virtuous. The morale of this film is simple: the solutions are endless, cheerful and accessible to all of us. So, let's work together, act together, working to be happy!

Vivre le changement

Synopsis

Parfois, on a l’impression que les défis environnementaux, sociaux et économiques de notre planète sont tellement immenses qu’il est impossible de les relever. Changements climatiques, épuisement des ressources, crise économique, inégalités sociales…il y a urgence à ce que les gouvernements agissent.  Vivre le changement explore les solutions auxquelles nous, à notre échelle individuelle, pouvons aussi participer, en nous racontant l’histoire de personnes qui ont su se dépasser et changer leur mode vie ou celle de leur communauté pour le rendre plus durable ou responsable. Les réalisateur.trices Jordan Osmond et Antoinette Wilson nous livrent ces histoires issues de leurs différents voyages, ainsi que des témoignages de spécialistes qui nous expliquent comment nous en sommes arrivés là aujourd’hui.  Des jardins forestiers aux toilettes à compostage, en passant par l’agriculture communautaire et la banque de temps, Vivre le changement nous invite finalement à repenser notre approche du quotidien.

Récompenses reçues :

  • Cinematography Award & Social Impact Award - A Show for Change 2018

Le mot des réals

Chacune et chacun d’entre nous peut agir à son échelle, et VIVRE LE CHANGEMENT cherche justement à nous y encourager. Il existe tant de solutions, d’idées et d’alternatives, mais aussi de sources d’inspiration et d’espoir ! Notre but, c’est que les gens pensent à la façon dont ils conçoivent l’avenir de la planète et le rôle qu’ils peuvent y jouer.

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Un voyage dans les paysages sublimes de la Nouvelle Zélande et un film plein d’énergie qui nous donne – enfin ? - l’envie de nous mettre en action pour participer à ce mouvement qui veut faire bouger le système. A travers les initiatives des protagonistes, nous réalisons que nous ne devons pas nous résigner face au triste constat d’une planète qui se meurt mais transformer notre indignation en quelque chose de positif et vertueux. La morale de ce film est simple : les solutions sont multiples, sources de bonheur, et elles sont accessibles à tout le monde. Alors unissons-nous, agissons et refusons de baisser les bras !