Monsters and Guardians

Synopsis

This short documentary chronicles the inception of the climate change movement in New Zealand. It was the year after the Deepwater Horizon disaster in the Gulf of Mexico. A tiny indigenous tribe on the remote East Cape saw a strange ship in their sacred waters. It was a seismic research vessel looking for deep sea oil. Fearing they had broken an ancient contract with their ancestors Te-Whanau-A-Apanui elders sent Taniwha and Kaitiaki (Monsters and Guardians) to confront the oil vessels. Then they took to the sea themselves. What happened next would inspire a whole generation of New Zealanders who’d grown up on a proud history of anti-nuclear protest. This film examines what it takes to be an environmental activist, the idea of living for the future and how often serendipitous collaborations can change history. PS: Shot by Greenpeace New-Zealand, giving an account of the actions it undertook during this conflict. This film is not being entered in the competition which is submitted to public vote.

Director's statement

We made this film partly to celebrate a decade’s resistance to offshore oil exploration in New Zealand and partly to give heart to the next wave of climate activists coming through. It was particularly important for us to document the indigenous peoples struggle which was the backbone of this epic movement and an important collaboration for Greenpeace. The fight against oil exploration is not over despite the NZ government moratorium on new exploration licenses. There is one foreign oil company left 0MV (the climate criminal) from Austria which is planning to drill in the untouched Great South Basin. La lucha continua.

Why we selected this film

A very touching film that introduces us to a nation of people who are proud of their culture, origins, territory, and who are willing to do anything to save it all. The committed fight these men and women are putting up is a model for all those who want to take action. A real lesson in activism…

Next steps

Act right away

Giving up on dirty energy is possible!
I find out more about sustainable forms of energy.

Take things further

Greenpeace’s other victories..

Join an action group

I join a Greenpeace local group somewhere near me (in France).

I join the WeGreen social network for those wishing to act in favour of the environment, to take part in actions happening near me and to meet people who are active in areas that I am interested in (in France).

I don't live in France: I find a Greenpeace office near me.

0 comment

Comments are closed.

To continue the festival’s awareness raising mission:

Join Greenpeace

Monstres et gardiens

Synopsis

Tourné par Greenpeace Nouvelle-Zélande, ce film n’entre pas dans la compétition soumise au vote du public. Ce documentaire raconte la naissance du mouvement climatique en Nouvelle-Zélande.  Un an après la catastrophe de la plateforme pétrolière Deepwater Horizon dans le golfe du Mexique, une petite tribu aborigène Te Whānau-ā-Apanui de East Cape, en Nouvelle-Zélande, aperçoit un étrange bateau débarquer dans ses eaux sacrées…  Il s’agissait d’un navire de recherche sismique dépêché pour sonder les eaux profondes à la recherche de pétrole.  Craignant d’avoir courroucé leurs ancêtres, les anciens de la tribu ont envoyé les Taniwha et les Kaitiaki (les monstres et les gardiens) pour combattre les navires pétroliers, avant de prendre eux-mêmes la mer.  Les événements qui suivirent resteront une source d’inspiration pour toute une génération de Néozélandais·es. Ce documentaire montre les sacrifices que font les personnes qui défendent l’environnement et leur avenir, et comment des alliances inattendues peuvent changer le cours de l’Histoire.

Le mot des réals

Nous avons réalisé ce film pour célébrer une décennie de résistance à l’exploration pétrolière offshore en Nouvelle-Zélande, et pour soutenir la nouvelle vague d’activistes du climat qui se lève. C’était très important pour nous de documenter le combat des peuples autochtones, qui est au centre de ce mouvement pour la défense de l’environnement et qui est si important pour Greenpeace. La lutte contre l’exploration pétrolière n’est pas terminée, même si le gouvernement néo-zélandais a imposé un moratoire sur les nouvelles autorisations d’exploration. Une compagnie pétrolière autrichienne, OMV, envisage en effet d’effectuer des forages dans le Great South Basin, une zone jusqu’ici préservée. La lucha continua…

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Un film très touchant qui nous emmène à la rencontre d’un peuple fier de sa culture, de ses origines, de son territoire, et prêt à tout pour les sauvegarder. La lutte engagée de ces hommes et de ses femmes est un modèle pour tous ceux et celles qui souhaitent passer à l’action. Une véritable leçon d’activisme…

Et après

Agir tout de suite

Se passer des énergies polluantes, c’est possible ! Je m’informe sur les énergies renouvelables.

Rejoindre un groupe d'action

Je rejoins un groupe local de Greenpeace près de chez moi.

Je rejoins WeGreen, le réseau social de celles et ceux qui veulent agir pour l’environnement, pour participer à des mobilisations menées à côté de chez moi et rencontrer des personnes actives sur les thématiques qui m’intéressent.

0 commentaire

Les commentaires sont fermés.

Pour poursuivre la mission de sensibilisation du festival :

Je fais un don