The Time of Forest

Synopsis

The French forest is in an industrialisation phase without precedent. THE TIME OF FOREST is a journey into industrial sylviculture and its alternatives. The choices we make today will create tomorrow's landscapes.

Director's statement

I arrived in the Millevaches Plateau in the Limousin Region of France ten years ago, in a 70% wooded area. Back then, I knew nothing of forests. These huge resinous forests reminded me of Canada and seemed to be the most natural thing in the world. Very quickly, I understood that these monocultures were not in the least spontaneous and that the biodiversity beneath these conifers was indeed extremely poor. By the wayside, I discovered dozens of hectares of landscapes cut to the ground and ransacked, ground and rivers devastated by machines… A few weeks later, small pine trees were planted once again on those fields of ruin, and force-fed on fertilisers and pesticides. In making this film, I wanted to understand this system no-one seemed to even question, as if it were the only possible model to produce wood. As one of the persons featured in the film says, we tend to think that the main threat to forests is deforestation. The problem in France is actually "poor-forestation". What kind of forest do we want to see tomorrow: A field of artificial trees or a thriving natural space? That's the essential question THE TIME OF FOREST asks us.

Why we selected this film

An alarming analysis of the state of affairs on a subject which is seldom talked about: the systematic destruction of the national forest heritage and the ensuing deliberate loss of biodiversity. At a time when global warming is accelerating, everything should be done to preserve forests and nurture healthy top-soils, which capture huge amounts of CO2. However, in France, 84% of forests only contain one or 2 species of trees, and the French government has decided to increase forest cutting by 30% these last years, thus reducing the amount of CO2 capture and increasing the emissions of the latter. A decision which makes no sense, goes against the general interest and threatens future generations. It is high time that this subject be brought to light in order to fight this absurd policy. This film acts as a whistleblower for all to hear about this scandal.

Le temps des forêts

Synopsis

Symbole aux yeux des urbains d'une nature authentique, la forêt française vit une phase d'industrialisation sans précédent.  Mécanisation lourde, monocultures, engrais et pesticides, la gestion forestière suit à vitesse accélérée le modèle agricole intensif.  Du Limousin aux Landes, du Morvan aux Vosges, Le temps des forêts propose, à travers les témoignages passionnants de celles et ceux qui travaillent dans le secteur forestier, un voyage au cœur de la sylviculture industrielle et de ses alternatives.  Forêt vivante ou désert boisé, les choix d'aujourd'hui dessineront le paysage de demain.

Le mot des réals

Je suis arrivé il y a dix ans sur le plateau de Millevaches en Limousin, une zone boisée à 70%. Je ne connaissais alors rien aux forêts. Ces grands massifs de résineux m’évoquaient le Canada et me semblaient tout ce qu’il y a de plus naturel. J’ai vite compris que ces monocultures n’avaient rien de spontané et que la biodiversité sous ces conifères était très pauvre. Au détour de chemins, j’ai découvert des dizaines d’hectares coupés à blanc, des paysages saccagés, des sols et des rivières dévastés par les machines... Quelques semaines après, on replantait sur ces champs de ruines des petits sapins gavés d’engrais et de pesticides. En faisant ce film, j’ai voulu comprendre ce système que personne ne semblait questionner, comme s’il était le seul modèle possible pour produire du bois. Comme le dit un intervenant dans le film, on a tendance à penser la menace qui pèse sur la forêt en termes de déforestation. Le problème qui se pose en France est plutôt celui de la « mal-forestation ». Quelle forêt voulons-nous pour demain ? Un champ d’arbres artificiel ou un espace naturel vivant ? C’est la question que pose LE TEMPS DES FORÊTS.

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Un état des lieux plus qu’alarmant sur un sujet dont on parle encore trop peu : la destruction du patrimoine national forestier et la perte délibérée de biodiversité. A l’heure où le réchauffement climatique s’accélère, tout devrait être fait pour préserver la forêt et entretenir la santé des sols, grands capteurs de CO2. Pourtant en France, 84% des forêts ne contiennent qu’une ou deux espèces d’arbres et  le gouvernement français a décidé d’augmenter de 30% la coupe des forêts, réduisant la captation et augmentant les émanations de CO2 Une décision en dépit du bon sens qui va contre l’intérêt général et menace les générations futures.  Il est grand temps de faire connaître ce sujet et de combattre cette politique absurde. Ce film est le porte-parole de ce scandale.