The Borneo Case

Synopsis

THE BORNEO CASE tells the story of the destruction of the Borneo rainforest and the hunt for Billions of dollars filtered into offshore accounts and property portfolios around the world. The bitter investigation of the destruction of 90% of Sarawak forest.

Director's statement

Ever since I first travelled to Sarawak to make the Tong Tana Film over a decade ago the lives and fate of Bruno Manser and of the nomadic Penan have held a big place in my heart. To spend time with the Penan, observing their traditions and community and following them as they hunted is something that I will never forget. To then witness them fight for the survival of their tradition and culture in the face of impossible odds was devastating. After following Bruno’s attempts to bring the worlds attention to the destruction – I was amongst the last to see him alive before he disappeared into the jungle for the last time. As a result the making this film for me is a deeply emotional undertaking, but one that I believe is an extremely important step to take.

Why we selected this film

This film follows a group of activists in their fight to expose the corruption of the Malaysian Government where the wood industry in Borneo is concerned. Whilst 90% of the primary forest has already disappeared and a dam project threatens to engulf local villages in the Salawak Province, British journalist Claire Rewcastle – accompanied by indigenous tribe representatives and the director of a Swiss organisation defending indigenous people's rights – is moving heaven and earth to save what remains of the forest. This film is testimony to the meaning of real commitment and activism. A beautiful tribute to those extraordinary whistleblowers who dedicate their life to the defence of the environment.

Le cas Bornéo

Synopsis

Le cas Bornéo, c’est l’histoire de la destruction de la forêt tropicale de l’île de Bornéo, notamment de la forêt de l’État malais du Sarawak. C’est aussi l’histoire des millions de dollars que ce pillage rapporte, et qui circulent sur des comptes dans le monde entier.

Le mot des réals

« Depuis que j’ai voyagé dans le Sarawak pour réaliser Tong Tana il y a plus de dix ans, je n’ai eu de cesse de penser au sort de Bruno Manser et des Penans. Passer du temps avec ce peuple autochtone, observer leurs traditions et la vie de leur communauté, partir avec eux à la chasse…ce sont des choses que je n’oublierai jamais. Mais ce qui m’a le plus marqué, c’est de les voir lutter pour la survie de leurs traditions et de leur culture face à des adversaires tout-puissants. J’ai suivi des près les efforts de Bruno pour attirer l’attention du monde sur le sort de ce peuple, et j’ai été l’une des dernières personnes à le voir en vie avant qu’il ne disparaisse dans la forêt. Réaliser ce film était pour moi une démarche autant émotionnelle que nécessaire ».

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Ce film suit un groupe d’activistes dans leur combat pour dénoncer la corruption du gouvernement malais dans l’industrie du bois à Bornéo. Alors que 90% de la forêt primaire a déjà disparu et qu’un projet de barrage risque d’engloutir des villages autochtones dans la province du Sarawak, la journaliste britannique Claire Rewcastle, accompagnée de représentants de tribus indigènes et du directeur d’une organisation suisse de défense des droits autochtones, remuent ciel et terre pour sauver ce qu’il reste de forêt. Ce film montre ce que l’engagement et l’activisme veulent dire. Un très bel hommage à ces lanceurs d’alerte extraordinaires qui dédient leur vie à la défense de l’environnement.