Hondar 2050

Synopsis

Carlos, a Basque plastic artist, likes surfing in his own beach. When he gets out from the water, he uses to pick up some pieces of plastic litter, which he finds between the rocks, and to bring them to his workshop. One day, he realizes he has accumulated a lot of thrash, litter with different ages and origins, which got the common trait of ending into the same beach. Little by little, Carlos starts to raise his own awareness and to research why and how these materials reach the ocean. At the very same time, as to express his frustration, with this accumulated thrash he starts to create a series of art pieces. Travelling through the coast, Carlos will understand that to change the situation, it is necessary to change what happens inside one own self, of his own automatic habits.

Awards :

  • Best Medium Length Documentary - Festival De Cine Y Derechos Humanos De Madrid, Espagne 2018
  • Best Movie with Ecological message - Ciclo de Cine Submarino de Donostia – Cimasub, España 2018

Director's statement

We live in a consumer society and we unworry completely about the ending of our possessions once they finish their useful lives. Each Spanish citizen produces an average 450kg of waste per year, recycling less than 30%. And this waste nobody wants to see it… But, what happens when this waste gets to the sea? What are the consequences of that plastic spoon which was left on the beach 10 years ago? On the citizen scale, nobody seems to understand where this waste comes from. With this documentary we wanted to stimulate, also thanks to a crowdfunding, the questioning of people, making people aware of the problem, trying to make everybody understand that everyone is involved, and that the habits of each one of us converts easily into a common problem. We wanted to analyze those human behaviors that leave an indelible footprint on our ecosystem, and to observe those people who have given a step forward and pushed others, and who show us the way to solve the problem.

Why we selected this film

A small original yet positive film which highlights our responsibilities and invites us to take action. A perfect choice for young audiences: this film offers examples of what every individual can do at their own level and offers simple solutions on how to proceed.

Hondar 2050

Synopsis

Carlos est une artiste basque qui aime surfer sur sa plage. Quand il sort de l’eau, il a l’habitude de récolter quelques morceaux de plastique qu’il trouve entre les rochers et les ramène à son atelier.  Un jour il réalise qu’il a accumulé beaucoup des déchets, d’origines et d’âges différents, qui possèdent pour seul trait commun de terminer leur périple sur la même plage.  Peu à peu, Carlos commence à chercher pourquoi et comment tous ces matériaux arrivent dans l’océan. En même temps, comme pour exprimer sa frustration, il commence à créer une série d’œuvres d’art avec tous ces déchets.  En voyageant sur la côte, Carlos comprendra que, pour changer la situation il est nécessaire de modifier ce qui se passe en nous mêmes, et dans nos habitudes quotidiennes. 

Récompenses reçues :

  • Best Medium Length Documentary - Festival De Cine Y Derechos Humanos De Madrid, Espagne 2018
  • Best Movie with Ecological message - Ciclo de Cine Submarino de Donostia – Cimasub, España 2018

Le mot des réals

Notre société de consommation se fiche éperdument du sort réservé aux produits qu’elle achète et jette aussitôt. En Espagne, chaque personne produit en moyenne 450 kg de déchets par an, dont moins de 30 % sont recyclés… Que se passe-t-il lorsque ces déchets arrivent en mer ? Dans 10 ans, que deviendra cette cuillère en plastique abandonnée sur la plage ? Tout le monde ferme les yeux et personne ne se sent responsable. Avec ce film, et grâce au financement participatif, nous voulions pousser les gens à réfléchir et à leur faire prendre conscience que nos petites habitudes peuvent être un gros problème. Nous voulions analyser ces comportements qui laissent une empreinte indélébile sur la planète, et observer celles et ceux qui ont décidé de réagir et d’inciter les autres à réagir aussi, pour qu’ensemble nous puissions trouver des solutions.

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Un petit film original et positif, qui met en lumière la responsabilité de chacune et chacun et nous invite à nous mettre en action. Idéal pour les jeunes publics, ce film nous offre le parfait exemple de ce que chacun et chacune peut faire à son niveau, et propose des solutions simples pour y parvenir.