From Paris to Pittsburgh

Synopsis

PARIS TO PITTSBURGH brings to life the impassioned efforts of individuals who are battling the most severe threats of climate change in their own backyards. Set against the national debate over the United States’ energy future — and the Trump administration's explosive decision to exit the Paris Climate Agreement — the film captures what's at stake for communities around the country -- and the inspiring ways Americans are responding.

Director's statement

Michael R. Bloomberg, founder of Bloomberg Philanthropies, UN Special Envoy for Climate Action and former Mayor of New York City, said:  “With Washington asleep at the switch, local governments, states, businesses, and citizens from across the political spectrum are taking steps to tackle climate change and build a bright future for our country. This film tells their stories – and it drives home the message that fighting climate change makes our economy stronger, creates jobs, and saves lives by cleaning the air we breathe. We need more leadership from Washington on climate change, but Americans aren’t waiting around for it.”

Why we selected this film

This film shows the excellent example of communities and towns that are acting and working towards a 100% sustainable energy future. After President Trump decided that the USA would pull out of the Paris Climate Agreement, several states and cities in the US decided to resist and react. Whilst creating jobs, this film also shows how the political courage of certain locally elected officials can generate positive outcomes. A very real popular movement is stirring the country in favour of a fight against climate change, against decisions taken at the highest levels of federal power. A real example of positive civil disobedience!

De Paris à Pittsburgh

Synopsis

De Paris à Pittsburgh donne vie aux efforts passionnés d'individus qui luttent contre les menaces les plus graves du changement climatique dans leur arrière-cour.  Contre le débat national sur l’avenir énergétique des États-Unis et la décision explosive de l’administration Trump de sortir de l’Accord de Paris,  le film décrit l’enjeu pour les communautés à travers le pays – et la façon dont les Américain·es réagissent. 

Le mot des réals

« Alors que Washington bâille aux corneilles, des gouvernements locaux, des entreprises et des gens ordinaires de tous bords politiques agissent pour lutter contre le changement climatique et construire un meilleur avenir pour notre pays. Ce film raconte leur histoire et nous fait comprendre que lutter contre le changement climatique nous permettra de rendre notre économie plus forte, de créer des emplois et de sauver des vies en améliorant la qualité de l’air que nous respirons. Le gouvernement américain doit reprendre les rênes de cette lutte, mais les citoyen·nes ont déjà pris les devants », a déclaré Michael R. Bloomberg, fondateur de l’association caritative Bloomberg (co-productrice du documentaire), envoyé spécial des Nations unies pour l’action climatique et ancien maire de la ville de New-York.

Pourquoi ce choix ?

Ce film montre l’excellent exemple de communautés et de villes qui se prennent en main pour avancer vers un avenir énergétique 100% renouvelable. Après que le Président Trump a décidé que les USA se retireraient de l’Accord de Paris sur le climat, de nombreux Etats et villes américaines ont décidé de résister et de réagir. Créant de l’emploi par la même occasion, ce film montre ce que le courage politique de certains élus locaux peut engendrer de positif. Un véritable mouvement populaire secoue le pays en faveur de la lutte contre le changement climatique, à contre-courant des décisions prises au niveau fédéral. Un exemple de désobéissance civile positive !