About the festival

Everything about the festival

Pourquoi ce festival de film ?

The Greenpeace Film Festival is a 100% online documentary film festival about the environment, aiming to sensitize the public to the environmental stakes and promote positive initiatives.

Because information is the indispensible prerequisite for action, it is crucial to show how far the threats on the planet spread in every area (climate, biodiversity, agriculture, etc.) But it is just as important to bring hope by showing positive examples of solutions or civic initiatives that help things progress everywhere in the world and to remind us that many challenges remain.

The festival, beyond the awareness proposed through the different approaches these documentaries take, is also a tool to sensitize people to ecology and reasoned consumption: it offers each one of us simple ideas that we can all put into practice to change behaviors, adopt habits that are more respectful of the planet or even support Greenpeace or other organizations’ campaigns that work hard to protect the environment.

Where did the idea come from?

 The Greenpeace Film Festival is the continuation of the Green Up Film Festival, which was created in 2012 by the Belgian organization Wake Up. This festival was the first 100% online environmental documentary festival.

Interactive as it involved the public in its programming, the festival was met with a promising success in its first 3 years of existence: it received more than a total of 80,000 visits!

In 2017, Greenpeace France took the reins of the Green Up Festival for its 4th edition.

The Greenpeace Film Festival was born!

A participatory and exclusively online festival

The Greenpeace festival takes place online only and the public creates the programming. Completely virtual, available from most countries in English and French, this festival is made by and for the Internet users.

The documentaries are organized in seven categories:

Greenpeace has selected 28 films from different countries; four per category and you choose the seven movies that will be part of the final selection!

 

The Festival is organized in partnership with Reporterre, the environmental media website.

https://reporterre.net/

Tout sur le festival

Pourquoi ce festival ?

Pourquoi ce festival de film ?
Le Greenpeace Film Festival est un festival de documentaires sur l’environnement 100% online pour sensibiliser le public aux enjeux environnementaux et donner de l’écho aux initiatives positives.

Parce que l’information est un préalable indispensable à l’action, il est crucial de montrer l’étendue des menaces qui pèsent sur la planète dans tous les domaines (climat, biodiversité, agriculture, etc.). Mais il est aussi tout important de donner espoir en montrant des exemples positifs de solutions ou d’initiatives citoyennes qui font avancer les choses partout dans le monde, et de rappeler que des défis restent à relever.

Le festival, au-delà de la prise de conscience proposée à travers les différentes approches documentaires, est aussi un outil de sensibilisation à l’écologie et à la consommation raisonnée : il propose à chacun-e des idées toutes simples à mettre en pratique pour changer ses comportements, adopter des pratiques plus respectueuses de la planète ou encore soutenir des campagnes de Greenpeace ou d’autres associations qui œuvrent à la protection de l’environnement

D’où vient l’idée ?

Le Greenpeace Film Festival est la suite du Green Up Film Festival, un festival créé en 2012 à l’initiative de l’association belge Wake Up. Ce festival était le premier festival 100 % online de documentaires sur l’environnement.

Participatif puisqu’impliquant le public dans sa programmation, le festival a rencontré, lors de ses trois éditions précédentes, un succès prometteur avec plus de 80 000 visites au total !

En 2017, Greenpeace France reprend les rênes du Green Up Film Festival pour sa 4e édition. Le Greenpeace Film Festival est né !

Un festival exclusivement en ligne et participatif

Le Greenpeace Film Festival se déroule exclusivement sur internet et c’est le public qui fait sa programmation. Entièrement dématérialisé, accessible depuis quasiment tous les pays en anglais et en français, ce festival est fait par et pour les internautes.

Les documentaires sont classés en sept catégories :

Au total, 28 films de différentes nationalités ont été sélectionnés par Greenpeace, quatre par catégorie, et c’est vous qui choisissez les sept qui participeront à la sélection finale !